Skip to content

Seven Day Suicide Alt

by on January 16, 2013
Steam Cat here, bringing you a way you can quickly get into suicide ganking.
Here’s a 7 day (with +3 implants) plan to get you into a Thrasher and begin one-shoting pods, shuttles, noob ships and non-combat t1 frigates. Naturally train cybernetics to whatever level of implants you want to use first. And DEFINITELY make this an alt.
***Remapping (active) : i27 p17 c17 w17 m21***
Targeting I (100,000 ISK)
Target Painting I (90,000 ISK) (optional, but helps)
Mechanics III
Jury Rigging I (60,000 ISK)
Jury Rigging II
Jury Rigging III
Projectile Weapon Rigging I (100,000 ISK)
Projectile Weapon Rigging II
Engineering IV
Energy Grid Upgrades I (79,000 ISK)
Energy Grid Upgrades II
***Remapping (active) : i17 p27 c17 w21 m17***
Destroyers I (100,000 ISK)
Destroyers II
Destroyers III
Destroyers IV
Minmatar Frigate I (40,000 ISK)
Minmatar Frigate II
Minmatar Frigate III
Small Projectile Turret I (20,000 ISK)
Small Projectile Turret II
Small Projectile Turret III
Small Projectile Turret IV
Gunnery III
Gunnery IV
Surgical Strike I (1,000,000 ISK)
Surgical Strike II
Surgical Strike III
Surgical Strike IV
And done, if you want to invest another 20+ days in training here’s the damage skills you’ll want.
Destroyers V
Surgical Strike V
Small Projectile Turret V
If you want to max this ship out with T2 guns, gyros and damage rigs, you’ll need projectile weapons rigging, engineering, electronics, weapon upgrades and advanced weapon upgrades 5 which will take a total of 3 months. But worth if it you want to be able to one shot most frigates and are truely dedicated.
So what are we flying?
[Thrasher, boom baby]
Reactor Control Unit I
Reactor Control Unit I
Passive Targeter I
Target Painter I
Target Painter I
280mm ‘Scout’ Artillery I, Domination Phased Plasma S
280mm ‘Scout’ Artillery I, Domination Phased Plasma S
280mm ‘Scout’ Artillery I, Domination Phased Plasma S
280mm ‘Scout’ Artillery I, Domination Phased Plasma S
280mm ‘Scout’ Artillery I, Domination Phased Plasma S
280mm ‘Scout’ Artillery I, Domination Phased Plasma S
280mm ‘Scout’ Artillery I, Domination Phased Plasma S
[Empty High slot]
Small Projectile Collision Accelerator I
Small Projectile Collision Accelerator I
[Empty Rig slot]
Cost: about 9-10 million isk as of this writing
Why a Thrasher? The only alternative, ┬áthe Catalyst, is good under two circumstances: 1. if you’re in a .5 system which should give you enough time for two shots, or if you’re 2. fighting someone you can legally aggress. If you’re working in high sec, the thrasher has the best per volley damage, since we’ll only get one shot.
This Thrasher hits for 1494 a volley and passively targets. The passive targeter is essential because our targets need to be untanked. A moment to turn on damage control is the difference between a kill and just embarrassing yourself. The target painters are purely optional. Targets need to have an ehp of below 1494 , meaning ┬ápods, non-combat t1 frigates, shuttles and noob ships. You can take advantage of resist holes if you’re got your spotter 1 system ahead so you have enough time to switch ammo.
To make a suicide gank work you need at least two accounts. The shooter, a spotter and a looter. If you’re not shoot on sight yet, the shooter can double up as a spotter (exchanging the target painters for a ship and cargo scanner), but the looter can do it is as well.
The spotter gets on a gate or the next system’ gate leading to your camping spot. He passively targets, ideally auto piloting targets, then scans both the ship’s cargo/fitting to the shooter. If the loot is worth more than your ship and untanked, you fire. The looter loots and warps off to a safe spot until the suspect timer runs down. Looting will turn you suspect to turn the safety to partially off. Don’t bother looting the Thrasher wreck unless it is safe. Frigates are best for both scanning and looting due to their lock times and quick aligns. I give this ship to my looters/spotter. It warps aligns and warps out in less than 3 seconds and targets everything in 1s or less.
[Slasher, Gate Catcher] – only requires a few minutes to train if you can fly t1 minmatar, cost: 3m
Nanofiber Internal Structure I
Nanofiber Internal Structure I
Passive Targeter I
Cargo Scanner I
Ship Scanner I
Supplemental Scanning CPU I, Scan Resolution Script
[Empty High slot]
[Empty High slot]
[Empty High slot]
[Empty High slot]
Small Targeting System Subcontroller I
Small Targeting System Subcontroller I
Small Targeting System Subcontroller I
The shooter’s job is to shoot. With this Thrasher you’ll passively target the victim, then hit the target painters, then immediately after the guns. Remember to shoot when the transversal is low. After that both you and the victim will have (hopefully both) exploded gloriously. You will lose your Thrasher, this cannot be avoided legally. Warp to a safe spot immediately afterward unless you want to be podded by an opportunistic jerk.
The looter needs to scoop the loot (which will turn him suspect, thus shootable by everyone) and warp out immediately to a safe spot. From here dock up at a low traffic station or wait out the timer in space. The shooter should do the same.
Obviously this setup gets more reliable the more shooters there are. If you’ve got some friends they can setup trial accounts and join in on the fun and profit. If you’re feeling like going to the next level, with bigger targets, try training up for a Tornado which does 11k per volley and dramatically opens up your profit levels and targets.
The consequences of being a shooter are you’ll lose sec status and people you kill will have kill rights on you. The sec status loss will eventually make it so you’re shoot on sight in space. This can be worked around by waiting in station for the spotter to find a target a jump ahead of your target gate. Timings may vary. The kill rights issue is trickier. If you make them avaliable to everyone, just get in a noob ship and let someone activate them, then warp off. If they want to hunt you down, make a contact list and make a note when they’re online.
Otherwise have fun. Maybe send a little isk to me (Steam Cat), and come hang out with us in the Belligerent Undesirables chat in eve.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

